

SCDOT Requests Public Comment on a Statewide Transportation Improvement Program Amendment to Include Preliminary Engineering, Right of Way and Other Phases on the I-526 Project from near Virginia Avenue (Exit 20) to near Paul Cantrell Boulevard (Exit 11)

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) requests comments from the public on the I-526 project from near Virginia Avenue (Exit 20) to near Paul Cantrell Boulevard (Exit 11) in Charleston County. The SCDOT Commission approved, during its October 21, 2021 meeting, a public comment period for the proposed interstate widening and interchange improvement project.

The public has the opportunity to comment on the action to amend the 2021- 2027 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) to include the project's preliminary engineering, right of way and other phases of work. SCDOT will receive public comment for a 21-day period from <u>October 22, 2021</u> through <u>November 11, 2021.</u>

Project Name	Phase of Work	Year	Cost
I-526 from near Virginia Avenue (Exit 20) to near Paul Cantrell Boulevard (Exit 11)	PE	2022	\$25,000,000
	ROW	2023-2026	\$100,000,000
	Utility & Other CON	2023-2026	\$65,000,000

The project proposes improvements to the I-26/I-526 Interchange, including I-526 mainline widening from 4 to 8 lanes from Paul Cantrell Blvd to Virginia Avenue, interchange modifications at North Rhett/Virginia Interchange, and minor modifications at all other service interchanges in order to accommodate the interstate widening.

A summary of substantive comments will be available to the Commission. Pending consideration of public comments, the approval of the phases of work will be recommended for inclusion in a future version of the STIP.

A copy of this press release, along with a copy of the location map, will be available for public review and comment through <u>November 11, 2021</u> online at these links:

English:	Spanish:
https://bit.ly/scdot526VaAve	<u>https://bit.ly/scdot526VaAvesp</u>

To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and any supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:

South Carolina Council of Governments: Appalachian Council of Governments	Lower Savannah Council of Governments Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun &
Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville,	Orangeburg
Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg	2748 Wagener Road
30 Century Circle	Hwy 302 North
Greenville, SC 29607	Aiken, SC 29801
(864) 242-9733	(803) 649-7981

Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda 430 Helix Road Greenwood SC 29646 (864) 941-8072

Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union 215 Hampton Street Second Floor, Rock Hill, SC 29731 (803) 327-1912

Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland 236 Stoneridge Drive Columbia, SC 29210 (803) 376-5390

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg 1230 Highmarket Street Georgetown, SC 29440 (843) 546-8502

SCDOT District Offices:

District 1 1400 Shop Road Columbia, SC 29201 (803) 737-6660

District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 241-1010

District 5 3018 East Palmetto Florence, SC 29506

(843) 661-4710 District 7

P.O. Box 1086 1724 Charleston Hwy Orangeburg, SC 29116 (803)-531-6850

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter 2525 Corporate Way, Suite 200 Sumter, SC 29154 (803) 775-7381

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro 2314 Pisgah Road Florence, SC 29501 (843) 669-3138

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper 634 Campground Road Yemassee, SC 29945 (843) 726-5536

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester 5790 Casper Padgett Way North Charleston, SC 29406 (843) 529-0400

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave. Greenwood, SC 29646 (864) 227-6971

District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass Chester, SC 29706 (803) 377-4155

District 6

6355 Fain Blvd. North Charleston, SC 29406 (843) 740-1665 Comments will be accepted until the close of business on <u>November 11, 2021</u> and should be forwarded to Mrs. Christina Lewis, Statewide Planning Chief, SCDOT Office of Planning, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or <u>lewisc@scdot.org.</u>

NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.